2010 RI Smallbore League Results

Varnum Rifle Team – 2010 League Champions

by Joe Graf

The Varnum Memorial Armory was the site of RI Smallbore Rifle League’s 2010 awards banquet. Attendees were able to tour the museum containing military firearms, uniforms, equipment, and artifacts from the 16th century to the present before enjoying their dinner.

This is the second year the league used a handicap system to calculate team scores. The handicap system provides bonus points for competitors who fire a score above their current average. Implemented to recruit new shooters, a new shooter can quickly improve the team score as they will regularly be shooting above their rolling average. However, the handicap system also rewards large teams.

The first award of the evening was the league’s Team Championship award, presented to the Varnum Rifle Team for record of 15-6. This ended Smithfield Sportman’s Club ten-year run as Team Champions. Next we moved to the individual awards, starting with the award for the highest overall average. Typically won by someone shooting with a scope, this year it was won by Kim Chrostowski using iron sights. Shooting for South County Rod & Gun Club, she ended the season firing a 289.67 average.

The High Open Sights (scope) award went to Erik Hoskins, representing Smithfield Sportsman’s Club, who fired a 287.68 average, while Ed Jaques from Cumberland Beagle Club had an average of 263.00. This earned him the High Senior (over 60 years of age) award.

In the classification awards, the Master Class award went to Kim Chrostowski, the Expert Class award to Don Norris (284.53), the Sharpshooter award to Joe Graf (280.53), and the Marksman class award went to John Polseno (254.84).

Rick Dyer fired a 235.78, 27.24 points better than his average from last year to win the Most Improved award. The High on Team awards went to Ed Jaques of Cumberland, Erik Hoskins of Smithfield, Kim Chrostowski of South County, and Scott Lewis of Varnum.

About Joe Graf

Joe Graf started shooting competitively as a junior in 1983 in both smallbore and high power rifle. After completing his junior career, he turned his attention to focus on smallbore rifle. In addition to shooting competitively, Joe has been the director of the RI Smallbore Rifle League since 1993, the Director of Smallbore Competition for RI State Rifle & Revolver Association since 2005, a member of the 2007 National Four Position Indoor Championship team, and Executive Officer of the RI State Rifle & Revolver Association since 2010. He is a National Record Holder, member of the Smithfield Sportsman's Club, the Blackhawk Rifle Club, and Digby Hand Schuetzenverein. He is a contributor to pronematch.com.
This entry was posted in Results and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *